Portal for

    Ombudsperson

    The ombudsperson deals with complaints relating to education and examination organisation.

    What can an ombudsperson help with?

    The powers of a faculty ombudsperson extend to receiving students’ complaints and comments concerning the following matters:

    • educational organisation
    • exam schedule
    • exam proceedings
    • assessment of Master’s theses
    • outcome of examiners’ meetings
    • announcement of results
    • monitoring of study progress based on exams

    In the first place you need to address complaints to the faculty ombudsperson. Under certain conditions, you can contact the central ombudsperson.

    Other complaints & suggestions

    If you want to respond to issues in the daily life of our university, you can send an e-mail to feedback@vub.ac.be. This is the official contact address for feedback on our university policy and organisation.

    The student information hub will treat your feedback with care and discretion from a professional customer relations service. It mediates between the parties involved, looks for a pragmatic solution and informs the university board if necessary.

    Other matters:

    Faculty ombudsperson

    Each faculty has its own ombudsperson. If your faculty ombudsperson is involved in the conflict, you can contact the central ombudsperson.

    Economic and Social Sciences and Solvay Business School
    Prof. dr. Kris Deschouwer

    Telephone number
    +32 2 614 81 20

    E-mail
    Kris.Deschouwer@vub.ac.be
    Medicine and Pharmacy
    Dr. Bart Van der Auwera

    Telephone number
    +32 2 477 43 39

    E-mail
    bartvda@vub.ac.be
    Engineering
    Prof. dr. Danny Van Hemelrijck

    Telephone number
    +32 2 629 29 29

    E-mail
    Danny.Van.Hemelrijck@vub.ac.be
    Arts and Philosophy
    Prof. dr. Dirk Vanden Berghe

    Telephone number
    +32 2 629 12 61

    E-mail
    Dirk.Vanden.Berghe@vub.ac.be
    Physical Education and Physiotherapy
    Prof. dr. Steven Provyn

    Telephone number
    +32 2 477 44 14

    E-mail
    Steven.Provyn@vub.ac.be
    Psychology and Educational Sciences
    Prof. dr. Katrien Struyven

    Telephone number
    +32 2 629 11 32

    E-mail
    Katrien.Struyven@vub.ac.be
    Law and Criminology
    Prof. dr. Erna Guldix

    Telephone number
    +32 2 629 25 53

    E-mail
    Erna.Guldix@vub.ac.be
    Science and Bio-engineering Sciences
    Prof. dr. Dominique Maes

    Telephone number
    +32 2 629 18 52

    E-mail
    Dominique.Maes@vub.ac.be

    Ombudsperson for PhD students

    The ombudsperson for PhD students receives comments and complaints from PhD students.

    More information about the ombudsperson for doctoral students can be found in the Central PhD Regulations.

    campus Etterbeek

    • Ombudsperson: Prof. Dr. Ann Now√©
    • Office: Campus Etterbeek, building G, room 10G.711B
    • Telephone number: +32 2 629 38 61
    • E-mail: Ann.Nowe@vub.ac.be

    campus Jette

    • Ombudsperson: Prof. Dr. Luc Bouwens
    • Office: Campus Jette, building D, room D036 (ground floor)
    • Telephone number: +32 2 477 44 05
    • E-mail: Luc.Bouwens@vub.ac.be

    Central ombudsperson

    If your faculty ombudsperson is involved or absent you can turn to the central ombudsperson.

    In the event that a faculty ombudsperson is involved in a conflict thus compromising independence and impartiality, or in the event of absence of the faculty ombudsperson, a student can turn to the central ombudsperson.

    Besides that the central ombudsperson may also act in case of appeals against study progress decisions.

    Contact information
    Prof. dr. Alex Housen

    Telephone number
    +32 2 629 13 94

    E-mail
    ahousen@vub.ac.be
    Contact information
    Prof. dr. Els Dumortier (substitute)

    Telephone number
    +32 2 629 13 94

    E-mail
    Els.Dumortier@vub.ac.be