Portal for

    You are here

    Stricter access criteria to the Brussels Low Emission Zone as of 1 January 2020

    In 2020, the access criteria to the Low Emission Zone (LEZ) of the Brussels Capital Region are changing. As of 1 January 2020, diesel vehicles under the Euro 3 standard will be banned from entering the zone. A 3-month transition period has been established during which only warnings will be sent to offenders, fines will be sent from April 2020.


    Today, cars running on diesel under the Euro 0, 1 and 2 standard or petrol under the Euro 0 and 1 standard are banned from entering the zone. You can find all information on the webpages of the LEZ.